GHFGM – A Time To Weep

In the wee hours of this morning I found myself with a heavy heart crying and weeping with sadness as it seems as if there’s trouble on every hand and many are faced with so many challenges and struggling in ways that’s incomprehensible. The tears that wet my pillow also watered my prayers and the universal sobs that escaped my lips with empathy did so for those I know and those I don’t know, and this passage of scripture spoke to me in that moment:

Ecclesiastes 3:4 (NIV)

a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance,

There absolutely is a “time to weep” but as children of God many of us are of the mind-set we should keep a stiff upper lip, crying is for babies and those who can’t handle their emotions, and we should never allow anything or anyone to reduce us to tears but our elder brother Jesus was troubled in his spirit and moved to tears as he felt the grief that Mary expressed due to the loss of her brother Lazarus (John 11:32-35). If Jesus was able to weep for those in distress who were hurt, mourning, and wounded why can’t we.

When people are celebrating and rejoicing we must celebrate and rejoice with them as it’s during those times that the joys of life are being acknowledged but by the same token when people are weeping we are to weep with them as it’s during times of grief, hurt, and mourning that our tears can provide solidarity and bear witness to our feeling the pain of another:Romans 12:15  (NKJV)15 Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep.

A time to weep is upon us so set aside some time today allowing for and giving yourself permission to weep for and with those globally who are weeping and as you do so let this passage of scripture be your guide:Psalm 39:12 (NIV)12 Hear my prayer, Lord, listen to my cry for help; do not be deaf to my weeping. I dwell with you as a foreigner, a stranger, as all my ancestors were.

Blessings, Love, & Peace Tracy

Feel Free to Leave Us Comments